All Mystic Songs to Goddess Kali-Durga, Goddess Lakshmi and Goddess Saraswati

Poet, mystic and composer, 1925-2013.

H.H. Swami Lalitananda. Poet, mystic, composer, 1925-2013.

Songs to Goddesses
From Yoga Mystic Songs for Meditation, by Swami Lalitananda. ©
Volumes I-XI (1975-1997)

(The entries below are the lyrics portion only. The music scores appear in the respective volumes.)

INDEX
All Mystic Songs to Goddesses by Swami Lalitananda

Volume I
Oh Holy Mother Touch Me 8
Oh Goddess Lakshmi Abide in My House 12
Oh Mother, Goddess Durga 14

Volume IV
Listen to Me, Oh Beloved Mother 68

Volume VI
Appear to me 10
Oh Gentle Goddess 61
Oh Goddess Lakshmi Smile Upon Me 63
O Goddess Saraswati 64
O Great Goddess Kundalini 66
Oh Holy Mother Ganges 68
Prayer to Devi Durga 80

Volume X
Adorations to the Devi 8

Volume XI
The Grace of Goddess Durga 28
My Prayer to the Holy Mother 56

[end of Index]

Volume I ♫

Oh Holy Mother Touch Me 8
Oh Goddess Lakshmi Abide in My House 12
Oh Mother, Goddess Durga 14

Oh Holy Mother Touch Me (8)

Oh Holy Mother, touch me!
It is of you I dream riding on a swan,
With snowy robe, with jasmine flowers
On the vina you play a divine melody.
Om Aim Saraswatyai Namaha
Om Aim Saraswatyai Namaha

How I wander in this world.
Without you the rose will not bloom.
I sail in the frozen land of time.
My heart is sad, remove my folly.

The sun and stars give me no rapture.
Why are you ever hidden from my sight?
Capture me with your music of wisdom,
Oh, let me look into the beauty of your eyes.

I adore you, oh Mother with shining jewel.
The illusion of desert sand conceals you.
Like the white mist of morning you disappear.
Bestow upon me that freedom of the wind.

If I could only see your golden smile.
Let me keep your footprints in my heart.
I must shine like the moon in blue skies.
Oh release me with a dewdrop of your grace!

Oh Holy Mother, touch me!
It is of you I dream riding on a swan,
With snowy robe, with jasmine flowers
On the vina you play a divine melody.
Om Aim Saraswatyai Namaha
Om Aim Saraswatyai Namaha

Oh Goddess Lakshmi Abide in My House (12)

Oh Divine Mother, here I am.
I’m not a stranger to you.
A thousand dark roads I walked
Searching in the moonlight for you.

Oh Goddess with sparkling eyes,
You appear golden like the Sun.
I hear your conch calling me
Speak to me … for I worship you.

Oh look with love into my soul.
Grant me a golden intellect.
Enfold me in your fame and glory–
Oh Holy Mother, don’t turn away!

Let me adore you with prayer,
Oh sweet Mother, ever tender.
Give me a red lotus of wealth from your hand
Blow out this candle of remorse.

Oh Luminous One, give me grace !
You reap a golden harvest.
Let happiness rain upon me,
Drown me in the wave of eternity!

Like a silver star you shine.
Secretly you watch from above.
Give me a drop of heaven.
Let the pearls of wisdom fall.

Oh Divine Mother, here I am.
Cold and hungry in raging seas
In a world of time and Space –
Give me the cup of immortality.
Om Sri Maha Lakshmyai Namah

I implore you, Oh Goddess Lakshmi,
Abide in my house forever more !

– by Swami Lalitananda Saraswati

Oh Mother, Goddess Durga (14)

Oh Sri Kali,
Oh Durga,
Oh Chamunda!

O Holy Mother, I see you smile
Riding on a lion, fierce and terrible,
Removing obstacles of fear;
Adversities of yesterday fade.

I stretch my hand to you
In the gloom that covers me.
Hide me in your thousand arms.
Protect me, destroy the demons.

Oh Holy Mother, light the lamp
In the temple of my dying soul.
Fill me with your compassion
In the silvery light of your love.

The clouds thunder as you come
With mace, conch, trident and spear,
With garland of skulls on your neck—
Now the pain and sorrow disappear.

Like the mighty lion truth does roar
Over the mountain you come like the sun.
The darkness of grief is gone—
Joy swirls like the ocean tide.

The silence of night is filled
With the strange love of your beauty.
On your lion carry me away.
Oh Holy Mother, protect me.

Oh Sri Kali! Oh Durga! Oh Chamunda!
Om Sri Durgajai Namah!
Oh Holy Mother, I’m your child.
Protect me, protect me,
Oh Holy Mother!

Volume IV ♫

Listen to Me, Oh Beloved Mother (68)

Oh Holy Mother,
Oh Holy Mother,
Help me, help me.
If you do not help me,
Who will find me?
Listen to me, oh beloved Mother.
I have fallen like a star from the sky
Into the ocean of misery.
You must hear,
Oh Holy Mother,
Oh Holy Mother.

Oh Mother,
Make me well from head to toe
With prana shining bright.
May my mind be ever pure
Like the sparkling streams
Of the hills of Kashmir
In the morning sun.
May my heart be as kind
As the sweet lilies of early spring.

Oh gracious Mother,
May my soul be expansive
Like the infinite blue sky.
I beseech you, my Holy Mother,
Perform your divine miracle
And make me free to merge and melt
Like a ray of sun in your cosmic heart.

Oh Holy Mother, oh Holy Mother.
You must hear my cry.
I am so near.

May my mind
Be ever pure
Like the sparkling hills of Kashmire
In the morning sun.
May my heart
Be as kind
As the sweet lilies
Of early spring.

Oh Holy Mother, oh Holy Mother.

Volume VI

Appear to me 10
Oh Gentle Goddess 61
Oh Goddess Lakshmi Smile Upon Me 63
O Goddess Saraswati 64
O Great Goddess Kundalini 66
Oh Holy Mother Ganges 68
Prayer to Devi Durga 80

Appear to me (10)
Written October 1st, 1984.

When you walk the earth smiles
And trees bend before you.
Your crown of rubies
Touches the blue skies,
Delighting the three worlds.

O Goddess Lakshmi,
Shed your bounty upon me.
Appear to me.
May my dream of your beauty
Become a reality.
Om Sri Maha Lakshmyai Namah.

From afar I see your bright garland of flowers.
Shower upon me your light.
Shield me from darkness.

I see you shining in the rising sun,
Your hand destroying the black karmas.
I see you playing in the old lake,
Melting the floating ego of illusion.

When the moonlight dances
On the snowy clouds,
I hear you singing of eternity.
O Goddess Lakshmi, gaze upon me
With your infinite beauty.
Give me health, wealth and immortality.

Oh Gentle Goddess (61)
Poem and composition by SL
August 21, 1984.

The cold winter night has fallen.
The demons appear in dark trees.
Alone I pray, alone I wait.
O gentle Goddess, touch me with your goodness,
Touch me with your beauty.

When midnight comes
My soul stands still,
Afraid you may not appear—
Yet knowing you will come
Out of compassion for my plight…
Alone I pray, alone I wait.
Om Aim Saraswatyai Namah

The curtain moves, the winter is gone
And the dawn of spring steps through my window.
You are here with me at last.
O gentle Goddess, touch me with your goodness,
Touch me with your beauty.

Oh Goddess Lakshmi Smile Upon Me (63)
based on a poem by H.H. Swami Jyotirmayananda,
January 6, 1984

Oh Goddess Lakshmi, smile upon me,
Cast thy sidelong glance unto me.
Awaken me from my long, long dream.
In the garden of my life
Let every leaf that blows in the wind
Turn into radiant gold.
Let every flower become a perfect gem
That lights up my lonely heart.
Oh Goddess Lakshmi,
Grant me the vision of Thy Lotus Feet
On the sands of eternity.
Inspire me to climb the mystic mountain.
Let my soul become a cascading stream of your grace,
Carrying a love unknown
To all who walk on earth.
Oh Goddess Lakshmi,
Smile upon me.

O Goddess Saraswati (64)
Poem and composition by SL
July 13, 1984.

In the moonlight
I hear your vina,
O Goddess of supreme beauty.
Your garland of sweet flowers captures my longing soul.
I bow in deep devotion.

Grant me a golden intellect.
May my mind be ever pure.
Om Aim Saraswatyai Namaha
Om Aim Saraswatyai Namaha

O Goddess, your eyes shine
Like the dew drops
On the morning rose.
I meditate on your dazzling form,
Seated on the heavenly swan.
Bestow upon me the Divine wisdom
Of Thy infinite Self.

May I merge in Thee.
May I merge in Thee,
O great Goddess Saraswati,
Forever and forever.
Om Aim Saraswatyai Namaha
Om Aim Saraswatyai Namaha

O Great Goddess Kundalini (66)
Based on a poem by Swami Jyotirmayananda
Composition by Swami Lalitananda

Om, O great Goddess Kundalini,
By your grace the lotus unfolds
In the mystic lake of meditation. Om.
You are the mover of the universe,
Bestowing power in the storms and earthquakes.

Flowing through the path of Sushumna,
You rise higher and higher.
With every step the lightning flashes.
O Goddess, you pierce Manipur,
And I am free of Karma.
Om Sri Durgayai Namaha.

Like the moon you rise in Anahat
And the clouds of desire melt way.
Om Sri Mahalakshmyai Namaha.
As you strike the bell in Ajna chakra,
I soar like a swan,
Supremely free.
Om Sri Saraswatyai Namaha

With your golden sword,
O Goddess, you secretly enter Sahasrar.
The lotus blooms with a thousand petals.
The golden sun shines as you enfold me
In your thousand arms
And I melt in you forever.
Om Sri Maha Devyai Namaha.

O Holy Mother Ganges (68)
Based on a poem by Swami Jyotirmayananda, March 21, 1985.

I remember the first time I saw you
Shining in the early morning sun,
With your sparkling waters flowing on,
Reflecting the clouds in the sky.

The trees touched with dew,
Danced in the Himalayan breeze,
While the peacocks called to spring.

(Chorus)
Carry me in your arms to the sea of eternity.
O Holy Mother Ganges,
May I be free forever!

O sweet river Ganges,
Just as you uproot unbending trees
In your swift current,
Take my pride and ego away, away.
May I be like the bamboo trees
Bending in adoration and love.

(Chorus)
Carry me in your arms to the sea of eternity.
O Holy Mother Ganges,
May I be free forever!

For centuries the sannyasis
With folded hands prayed in the moonlight
On the silvery sands
While your cool waters swirled
And surged over rocks,
Giving a hope and joy unknown.

(Chorus)
Carry me in your arms to the sea of eternity.
O Holy Mother Ganges,
May I be free forever!

Prayer to Devi Durga (p. 80, 1985)
Song composed on October 3rd, 1984.

O Devi, tender and yet terrible,
I bow before you again and again.
Without your grace this world would be unbearable.
The wild jungle of fear would capture me.
Om Sri Durgayai Namaha!

O Devi, most gracious unto all,
I beg to touch your lotus feet.
Without thought I have wandered foolishly
in quest of my desires.
Forgive me for I am your child.

O Devi, more beautiful than the orb of the moon.
Grant me this prayer:
May I be as pure as snow,
May that longing of my soul find rest
and peace with you.
Om Sri Durgayai Namaha!

O Devi, I am destitute.
Bestow upon me vigilance
in the dark hours of my soul.
Provide me with faith and courage.
Whenever I call,
envelop me in your thousand arms.

O Devi, protector of all.
Guide me through this storm.
The rains of misery are upon me.
Bring me back to my home
where I may abide with you in peace forever.
Om Sri Durgayai Namaha!

Volume X

Adorations to the Devi (8)
September 7, 1994

O Devi, we bow in deep devotion
For You are the nourisher of the universe.
Always as radiant as the golden morning sun.
Leading the soul to the heights of wisdom.
Namastasyai, Namastasyai, Namastasyai
Namo Namah.

Adorations to the supreme compassionate Devi,
Who is incomparable in her power.
May You bestow good fortune and goodness
In the dwellings of Your devotees.
May You grant us peace and prosperity.
Namastasyai, Namastasyai, Namastasyai
Namo Namah.

Again and again, salutations to the Devi!
Your exquisite beauty is like the rays of the moon
Across the far open sea in the night.
May you bring us joy and harmony!
Namastasyai, Namastasyai, Namastasyai
Namo Namah.

Adorations to the beautiful Divine Devi
Who exists as the intellect in all.
O Devi, we bow to you again and again.
May you bestow upon us Eternal Freedom.
Namastasyai, Namastasyai, Namastasyai
Namo Namah.

Volume XI

The Grace of Goddess Durga (28)
June 5, 1990

O Devi of infinite grace,
O Mother of infinite sweetness,
May you enfold this world in your thousand arms!
Om Sri Durgayai Namaha
Om Sri Durgayai Namaha

Let the mountains of obstacles
Turn into disappearing dust.
Let the ocean of delusion
Vanish like mist in the morning sun.
May the clouds of adversities
Be blown away by your Divine Grace.
Om Sri Durgayai Namaha
Om Sri Durgayai Namaha

May my soul break down
The prison walls that confine me
To the world of Maya.
O Devi of infinite grace!
O Mother of infinite Love!
Shower your Grace on me.
May I abide in you to enjoy infinite peace
And to melt in the fragrance of Eternity!
Om Sri Durgayai Namaha
Om Sri Durgayai Namaha

My Prayer to the Holy Mother (56)
December 1, 1992

O Holy Mother, the winter has fallen upon me.
The snows of sorrow are deeper around me.
The joy of spring and summer are long forgotten.

O Holy Mother, I have woven a destiny
That holds me in bondage.
I implore you, release the bonds from my hands
That were created by love and hate.
Undo the chains that shackle me,
Formed by my growing ego.

Lift my mind from this earth to the heavens above.
May my soul soar to freedom.
Grant me strength of mind and a brilliant intellect.

Let my heart rest on the clouds of blue daffodils
And may my feet walk alone on the golden summit of purity!

O Holy Mother, I implore you.
Give me freedom free of fear and lonely grief.
I see the snowy mountain of wisdom before me.
Enfold me in your Divine love, forever and ever!

[End of Mystic Songs to Goddess Kali-Durga, Goddess Lakshmi and Goddess Saraswati, by Swami Lalitanandaji. ]

3 responses to “All Mystic Songs to Goddess Kali-Durga, Goddess Lakshmi and Goddess Saraswati

  1. wow – after my heart – i listen to such music often – so enthralling – strangely of all my posts two receive daily visitirs – so soon a thousand have come to read my posts on, Tribute to Kali, and tribute to Krishna – i know not from where they come daily in such numbers like on a pilgrimage – also i am intrigued who and where are you swami Lalitanandji?

    • Indrajit, I feel honored that you’ve made it to the blog on beloved Mother’s Mystic Songs. Her songs inspired and keep inspiring many seekers who attend satsangs with mystic and sage, Bhagavan Swami Jyotirmayananda–Yoga Research Foundation, Miami, FL, USA. It is good to know that your blog is being visited by such abundant stream of mystic arts pilgrims!

      Bhagavan and Swami Lalitanandaji were initiated into sannyasa by Sri Swami Sivananda, from Hrishikesh Divine Life Society.
      Swami Lalitananda’s Mahasamadhi was on March of this year. In a most unassuming way, she lived the Life Divine as embodiment of Sri Kali-Durga, Sri Lakshmi and Maha Saraswati in one body. Many feared this fearless, yet gentlest saint. Guided by Bhagavan Gurudev, Swami L, how we endearlingly called her, was mother, military general, sister, composer, cook, mystic, businesswoman, playwright, kirtanist, soprano and former swimming instructor. On my fb Notes, you can find the tribute I wrote to his noblest daughter of India, who like myself, by some joke in the scheme of reincarnation, was born somewhere in the “West.”
      Right now, I am unable to expand on the blog, though I intended to include correct displayed Goddesses, Gods and Vedic scriptural images, MP3 of Swami L singing her compositions, and the scanned music sheet for a selection from her eleven volumes of “Yoga Mystic Songs for Meditation.” My blogging limitations have prevented me from completing this project that I hold as a tribute to Goddess in one of her many transformative forms: Swami L. If you, or anyone you know, can be of any assistance in my developing this blog, where now you can see Goddess images are showing up with incorrect cropping, I would greatly appreciate it.

      Thank you for your appreciation of the essence of Beloved Swami Lalitanandaji’s poetic outpouring. As you can see, there is more to be entered here, waiting for this neophyte to learn.

      Om Tat Sat!
      Yours in Goddess,
      Vrinda Jamuna Shakti
      Alachua, Florida, us

      https://www.facebook.com/notes/vrinda-puja/beloved-mother-hh-swami-lalitananda-saraswati/515076438545298

    • For more on Bhagavan Sri Swami Jyotirmayananda and the Yoga Research Foundation, please visit
      http://yrf.org/magazines/sep2013/index.html

      Swami Lalitanandaji is the founder of
      http://yrf.org/orphanage.html

      As a disciple who worked closely with Swami Lalitananda, and collaborated with her during the planning and construction stages of the Lalitha Anatalaya (Girls and Abandoned Womoen’s Orphanage), I find the YRF website script erroneous. It is incorrect, and Swami Jyotirmayananda can confirm, to say that “The society is engaged in servicing orphan girls and abandoned ladies through its wing known as LALITA JYOTI ANATHALAYA.” Even when every breath of the powerhouse divine energies in Swami Lalitananda were dedicated in Service of Guru, and the highest Nishkamya Karma Yoga, the orphanage did not emerge from engagement with the “Society” or its agents. Swami Lalitananda was consummed for years in building, speaking, connecting, funding, contacting contractors, arranging/dissolving the necessary diplomatic stumbling blocks in India… breathing the Orphanage in a way that the new Ashram administration, in charge of website and other things after her stroke in 2002, were not privy to.

      I can suggest the text to be changed, but it is futile to rock the boat. The new admin is sincerely trying its best to take her place. To embody Maya Shakti, impossible.

      Yours in Goddess,
      Vrinda

Leave a Reply

